AuthorTopic: HEAT DOWN! 🔥  (Read 254 times)

Online RE

• Administrator
  • Chief Cook & Bottlewasher
    • View Profile
HEAT DOWN! 🔥
« on: January 21, 2018, 04:55:37 AM »

youtube-Logo-4gc2reddit-logoOff the keyboard of RE

Follow us on Twitter @doomstead666

Friend us on Facebook

Published on the Doomstead Diner on January 21, 2018

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-F09RG-STWmo/Uo6rGJY9zfI/AAAAAAAAAtk/CTJJjXA1hoY/s1600/UhXnL.jpg

Discuss this article at the Doomsteading Table inside the Diner

Around this same time last year the heat in my digs quit on me.  I have a fairly typical boiler setup that runs on natural gas.  I'm not too good with doing mechanical repairs anymore, its tough with only one arm that works right.  I was never very good at it even when both arms worked though.  So trying to diagnose and repair this problem myself was out of the question.

http://daxushequ.com/data/out/47/img59894575.jpg I didn't notice the problem right away, I am pretty accustomed to and comfortable with the cold.  I just threw on another layer of clothing and figured I was getting cold leakage through the windows and doors because it was so cold outside.  Temps had dropped into the negative digits farenheit.  So I go to sleep all bundled up with an extra blanket too!  This is Eskimo style living, they about never got undressed through the winter.  They even had special flaps in the clothing so they could excrete or have sex without undressing. lol.

I woke up sometime in the middle of the night, I don't remember exactly the time, maybe 2AM.  My fingers were numb, they were outside my blanket arrangement and I wasn't wearing mittens.  So now I finally go check the thermostat, which is BLANK.  I think the temp was in the 30sF.