AuthorTopic: The Trouble with Guy McPherson  (Read 12264 times)

Offline Eddie

• Administrator
  • Master Chef
    • View Profile
Re: The Trouble with Guy McPherson
« Reply #60 on: April 03, 2016, 11:40:31 AM »
I've always said Guy is full of shit on his 2030 extinction timeline...but 2030, or 2130, or even 2230, is the blink of an eye when you're talking about this kind of phenomena. It takes a lot of time, and real famines and extinctions to turn around the kind of bad thinking this world runs on. I believe that by 2030 most people will see the problem, and more clearly than they want to. But even if we then radically change, en masse, it appears to me that would be too late to save most species.

Feedback loops are real. Methane clathrates are breaking down. A complete halt in using fossil fuels will result in CO2 RISING for a period of time, not sure how long, Some decades, I believe. Sequestering carbon shows some promise,which is why I'm studying it and intending to start doing it this year. Real life stuff. We'll see how it works out. I have lots of carbon lying around.

BTW, I recently surveyed the permaculture yahoo group here regarding biochar, and only a very few people, even in that world, have a clue about how it works. I was not encouraged.

What makes the desert beautiful is that somewhere it hides a well.

Offline Eddie

• Administrator
  • Master Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #61 on: April 03, 2016, 11:57:15 AM »
Fortunately for us, it is possible to both increase quality of life and lower "standard of living".  And I'm not guessing on this. It's easy to demonstrate that this is so.  (But I can't do that in less than a book-length essay which I cannot write today.)

No need. I fully believe that to be true, and I support folks who are on the path to that way of life. I also support outlawing cars in the interest of keeping the human species going. But I'm in the minority on that.

Offline Golden Oxen

• Golden Oxen
  • Contrarian
  • Master Chef